The outward expression of loss and Grief after someone's death.

It also refers to an external social response, such as Funeral or Memorial Services or other cultural traditions and ceremonies.

Sometimes, mourning and Grief are used interchangeably; however Grief refers more to internal thoughts and feelings.

Even though death may be understood as a natural part of life, one can still be overcome by emotion, in many unexpected ways.

Any feeling is a natural part of the grieving process; typically it's more than just sadness.

Research shows that people typically feel a wide range of emotions, regardless if the death was expected, or if their relationship with the deceased was complicated.

These include but are not limited to:

  • Shock
  • Confusion
  • Disbelief
  • Denial
  • Sadness
  • Depression
  • Anger or general irritability
  • Hypersensitivity
  • Numbness
  • Guilt
  • Relief