Community Property State

A state that employs Community Property Laws.

They include include:

  • Arizona
  • California
  • Idaho
  • Louisiana
  • Nevada
  • New Mexico
  • Texas
  • Washington
  • Wisconsin
Note: Alaska, South Dakota, and Tennessee are "opt in" states, meaning it gives partners the choice to be governed by the "community property" system.

These laws obligtate that any property bought or money earned by either spouse in a marriage is equally owned by both partners.

Similarly, debt incurred by either partner is equally owed by the couple.

In the event of a death, the deceased partner's share goes to the surviving partner, unless a Will obligates otherwise.